SIGN is a region-wide partnership, led by the University of York, and funded primarily by Research England. Our partners include Screen Yorkshire and eight other universities in Yorkshire and the Humber. You can find out more about SIGN itself on the ‘About Us‘ page.

The University of York is home to the Department of Theatre, Film, Television and Interactive Media, and to several ambitious creative industries research and knowledge exchange initiatives. These include Digital Creativity Labs, XR Stories, Weavr, IGGI and Creative Media Labs (funded by the European Regional Development Fund).

Screen Yorkshire champions the film, TV, games and digital industries in Yorkshire and the Humber. It does this by financially investing in productions; developing talent to create a skilled workforce; and fostering Yorkshire’s global reputation as an outstanding location for creative people.

The eight partner universities are Leeds Beckett University, Leeds Trinity University, University of Bradford, University of Huddersfield, University of Hull, University of Leeds, University of Sheffield and York St John University. They all have extensive links with the screen industries and related digital media businesses; provide innovative education and training in the field; and undertake research that has social, cultural and economic impacts.

All of the partners together contribute industry know-how, research expertise and networking and funding opportunities. Working collaboratively, we will ensure that SIGN improves the diversity and inclusivity of the Yorkshire screen industries; supports businesses and freelancers across games, television, film and other digital media; and provides innovative skills and training opportunities to people ranging from would-be members of the workforce, via early career talent to senior managers.

  • University of York
  • Research England
  • Screen Yorkshire
  • Leeds Beckett University
  • Leeds Trinity University
  • University of Bradford
  • University of Huddesfield
  • University of Hull
  • University of Leeds
  • The University of Sheffield
  • York St John University
  • European Regional Development Fund
  • Northern Powerhouse